So long Leonard……

RIP Leonard. Lovely writing from my mum on the poet, musician, writer, romantic and resembler of Otto my grandad.

What's my DNA?

leonard-cohenOh like a bird on the wire,
like a drunk in a midnight choir
I have tried in my way to be free.

I am sure many people feel about Leonard the way I do, so to many, these thoughts and words will be nothing new. Yet, every Leonard Cohen fan has his or her own memories of the songs,  his stories and  of the man himself, and  everyone feels strongly that those memories are their own to hold and no one else can adequately understand  the depth and significance of those. This is what Leonard did, he made everyone feel that he was sharing his stories and his sentiments with each individual.  And so it should be. That is the undeniable power a poet, writer, singer,  artist possesses, he or she makes you become part of them.

My memories go back to the early 70s when Leonard became part…

View original post 1,215 more words

Leave a Reply

